NORMAL – GRAEME CAMERON: REVIEW

Generally speaking, my favorite book genres are fantasy, thriller and crime, however recently I have been finding myself reading lighter novels, focusing more on friendships, love and life, so it was a shock to my system when I began reading Normal.

img_0058

Normal is a thrilling story exploring inside the mind of a cunning serial killer. You never learn his name, or find out what he looks like, which overall makes him even scarier as your imagination is left to run wild whilst it fills in the blanks Cameron leaves.

“He lives on your street, in a nice house with a tidy garden. He shops at your local supermarket. He drives beside you, waving to let you in to the lane ahead of him. He also has an elaborate cage in a secret basement…”

This thriller is unlike any other I have ever read, it is original, entertaining and does a good job in getting you on the killers side. Cameron has excellently written a likable character we should all hate. I found myself becoming quite fond of him and his way of thinking, even rooting for him at certain points.

Work. Play. Murder. The three words on the front of the novel sum the story up perfectly. It is dark and chilling, yet also surprisingly humorous (though darkly humorous at that). This story gripped me from the start and truly took me by surprise. With me reading so many thrillers and crime novels, many do become quite predictable, however this novel is completely unique and I devoured it in a few days.

I cannot recommend this book enough. It is brilliantly written, entertaining, original and unforgettable, with a great range of stand out characters.I am looking forward to reading more of Graeme Cameron’s work as this book has quickly become one of my favorites.

Has anyone else read this book, what are your thoughts? Did you enjoy it as much as me?

*This was a recent post from my old blog ‘catsandwizards’, however have uploaded it here to give a taste of the content being uploaded here.*

Lindsay xo

Leave a Reply

