January Favorites

January isn’t over popular compared to the other months ahead; everyone has the Christmas blues, the weather is bleak, cold and rainy (and in Scotland’s case, snowy) and everyone starts back work, uni, college or school. In my case, even though I didn’t start back uni (I start back Monday), January was filled with studying for an exam, planning a portfolio and attempting to write some of my dissertation – not the fun-filled month you might expect from a student off on winter break. January is no ones favorite for a reason, with some even branding it ‘the Monday of months’ (harsh), which I take as a reason to take more pleasure in the little things. January for me was filled with many great ‘little things’, however for this posts purposes, I have narrowed it down to six of my favorites. I hope your January wasn’t too bad and you treated yourself to a few favorites of your own.

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan IMG_4466I put this book on my Christmas list after having a lovely interview with the author, Kirsty Logan earlier in December. The storyline; the tale of two girls living very separate lives in a flooded world; North living on the Excaliber circus boat, spending her days performing with her bear, and Callanish, working as a Gracekeeper, overlooking the graves and performing funerals; was enough to reel me in, but Kirsty’s passion for the novel gave me an extra push to make sure I read it. I have just finished it and I cannot recommend it enough. It is an enchanting book and the boisterous, crazy life on the circus is perfectly balanced out by the calm, quiet life in the Gracelands with Callanish. This story is wildly original and unique, so if you are looking for a story a little different, I suggest you check it out.

Urban Decay NAKED Basics Palette IMG_4469This was another Christmas present and was one of my favorite presents. Urban Decay is my favorite brand for eyeshadow, all the eyeshadows are very pigmented, they never crease and stay on all night. I have the original NAKED palette, which is amazing, and I am touching base on all my favorite shadows in it sadly. My favorite daily eye look is matte nudes and browns, so this palette is perfect for me and is honestly so versatile. IMG_4472All the colours are so gorgeous and apply beautifully. They all blend together and can create so many different eye looks together. Venus is a brilliant highlighting shade, and has a slight shimmer through it; perfect for the inside of the eye and the brow bone. The rest of the shadows are matte, my favorite combo being Foxy, Naked 2 and Faint for a lovely cut crease eye. For £23 this palette is not cheap but it is such a good buy. A little goes a long way with these shadows, they will last you forever and they are such versatile shades. This, for me, has become an everyday essential in my makeup routine, and I can’t believe I waited so long to get my hands on it.

The Body Shop Strawberry Body Butter

Again, for Christmas, I got a box of five of the top selling body butters from the Body Shop; this was one of them and it smells amazing. The Body Shop body butters all smell great, and I totally get why the other scents are top sellers (Coconut being my second favorite in the box). The consistency is so light and creamy and I am pleased to report that it absorbs instantly (feeling sticky hours after application is so not what I – or anyone – want). I am so happy with this body butter that I will definitely be repurchasing when I am through with this one.

The Body Shop Apple Glaze Shower Gel IMG_4480As you can tell, I am quite a big fan of the Body Shop, therefore when I went shopping after Christmas with my friend, it was obvious I would end up in the store, especially since they had so many Christmas deals on. I had never seen the glazed apple scent before, and I am assuming it is a Christmas limited edition (however I could be wrong there). I hope it isn’t a special edition, however, as this smells so delicious. I love the smell of apples, and this is is like a sweet apple in a bottle. Using it in the shower is such a treat and leaves me smelling incredible; and even better, due to the Christmas sales, it was only £2!

Daniel Wellington Classic Sheffield 36mm and Classic St Mawes Wristband 

I absolutely love Daniel Wellington watches, they are so classy and sophisticated and go with absolutely everything. I first got the Classic Sheffield watch from my brother for my birthday because I wanted a watch that looked good, that I could wear at night, but was also simple enough to be able to wear every day; and this watch is just that. Since my birthday in October, rarely a day has gone by when I haven’t worn this watch and I receive compliments on it constantly. Due to me wearing this watch nonstop, I decided to get another wristband for it, to change it up a bit. I went for the Classic St Mawes, and it is such a lovely, warm chestnut brown and looks lovely on.

Lindsay xo

6 responses to “January Favorites

    • Aw that’s quite a tough choice, especially since both Urban Decay and Too Faced are such great eyeshadow brands! I’d probably say the Naked palette is a bit better for more natural eye looks compared to the Too Faced one though! And thank you! I’m glad you like it! ☺️

      Like

  1. I love The Body Shop products! I once had the strawberry body butter and I loved it! Right now I’m using Olive body butter and Hawaii Kukui Cream from their Spa of the World collection. Have you tried it? Also it would be great if you followed me back so we could support each other on this road of blogging 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

