The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins: Review

Ever since this book was first published in January last year, it has been everywhere, and it seemed as if every bookworm I knew couldn’t put it down. Yet, for some reason, I wasn’t in a hurry to read it. Last year I was in a bit of a reading slump, with uni, work and just general life getting in the way of me reading. Even when those things weren’t getting in the way, I had told myself to cut back on constantly buying new books (I have a big bookcase which is already painfully full, so I needed to cut back a bit), so I never really looked at this novel until October. My friend bought me the book as part of my birthday, and it is only just now that I have gotten round to picking it up and actually reading it. And boy was I wrong to wait so long. This book is amazing. AMAZING.

I can’t believe I didn’t read it sooner, as it is the type of intense thriller that I love. From start to finish the Girl on the Train is exciting and so gripping. From what I can tell from this book, Paula Hawkins is an incredibly talented writer and really knows how to suck you in from the start.

The book tells the story of Rachel (the girl on said train), who, whilst struggling with alcoholism, losing her job and dealing with the denial of her two year old divorce, finds a sense of escape on the train to London;  ‘Jess’ and ‘Jason’, a couple who live near the tracks and are often out in their garden as Rachel whizzes past. Jess and Jason, in Rachel’s mind are the perfect couple living the perfect life, a couple who she can’t help but fixate and obsess on. The book, told by Rachel, and two other characters (who I won’t mention as I would hate to give anything away) has so many great characters – I loved them all. They were all incredibly well written and even when not much was happening and you were just inside the mind of a particular character, it was still entertaining and a great read.

Overall, this book is wildly entertaining and very hard to put down. Even if thrillers aren’t usually your typical book choice, I still highly recommend it as it is just so good. The book is also set to be made into a film which is so exciting because it is so good, and it will be great for many people, who aren’t as interested in reading, to be able to experience the story too.

Lindsay xo

4 responses to “The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins: Review

Leave a Reply

