First Impressions: New Rimmel Fresher Skin Foundation

As soon as I first seen this foundation advertised I was interested; the sound of a light breathable foundation was music to my ears, as having oily skin, some heavier foundations can make my face look cakey and dull.

I was considering buying this foundation as soon as my current favorite – Maybelline’s Fit Me – ran out, but I was then pleased to see that I got a free sample with this month’s Glamour magazine. The sample came in the shade 100 Ivory, which was the perfect shade for my skin tone, and I was surprised to find that there was enough in the sample for two uses.

This foundation promises a lightweight texture and a natural finish which looks freshly applied the whole day. It also states that it won’t clog your pores and will let your skin breathe. This foundation is light coverage, which is the only reason I wasn’t rushing to try it straight away; even though I don’t get many blemishes, I do get redness on my cheeks and around my nose which I like to cover up with medium or full coverage foundation.

This foundation, however, surprised me, as even though it was a very light, natural coverage, it concealed any blemishes or redness on my face. It did have to use slightly more concealer than usual, but that is to be expected when I am used to using medium to full coverage foundations.

img_7358

Foundation with no concealer or powder (excuse the wet hair)

img_7360

Final look complete with concealer and powder

I was surprised by how light this foundation felt on my skin, as it literally didn’t feel like I had any makeup on after applying it. It blended very easily and I set it with a powder like I would with any foundation. The powder may not be needed, however, if you have dry or normal skin, as the foundation gave a shine-free finish even before I applied the powder.

I wore this foundation on days when I was busy, going to work and shopping to be able to compare it against other foundations more equally. After wearing the foundation for around five hours my skin still looked matte and shine-free which I was very happy with. After another hour or so it began to look slightly patchy on my chin, and around my nose, and my t-zone started to look oily, however, after six hours without a touch-up, I would say that was pretty good!

Overall I would say this is a really good foundation. It is lightweight, very breathable and has great staying power. This would be a great foundation for people who like to keep their makeup natural, and would be a great everyday foundation. The retail price is £7.49 which is a good price, as you don’t require a lot of product, therefore you will definitely get your monies worth. If you are interested in trying it but want to make sure you’ll definitely love it,  you can also request a sample from the Rimmel website.

Lindsay xo

Leave a Reply

