My Birthday Haul

Last week it was my birthday, I am now 22 – insert Taylor Swfit lyrics here- so I thought I would post a birthday haul of some of the lovely gifts I got from my family and friends, and give little reviews in case anyone reading is interested in getting some of the things for themselves.

Converse All Star High Tops – £48img_7486Two of my best friends bought me these converse and I love them. When I was younger I wore converse all the time and had seven or eight pairs. Lately, though I’ve only worn the all black low converse, but I’ve been really liking converse at the moment so these were a great present. You can never have enough shoes, and I think converse are such great shoes to add to your collection – they’re comfortable, go with many outfits and last for ages.

Vans Old Skool Classic Trainers – £52img_7489Again, I have loved Vans since I was younger and I have found them to be just as comfortable and long lasting as my converse. I have never had the Old Skool style before though, but I just love these and think they look so cool.

The Handbags – Topshop Burgundy Velvet Bag & River Island Western Buckle Mini Satchel Bag – Both £26img_7493My mum bought me the burgundy bag before my birthday so I could use it for my birthday night out (which was the weekend before my actual birthday) and I love it so much. Velvet is one of my favorite materials and I think the colour and studs look so good. It has a heavy gold chain as a strap which complements the bag really well and it is a great bag for a night out or special occasion. It is quite small, however, fitting my purse, keys, brush and phone into it, but not much else.

One of my best friends bought me the black bag as part of my present and it is such a great bag. It is a mix of both faux leather and faux suede and I love the western buckle and stud details. The strap is a great length, which is good as I am tall and some straps can be ridiculously short for me. Again, this is quite a small bag, but easily fits in the essentials.

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-in-1 Mascara -£17img_7497Through watching youtube tutorials I have heard many great things about this mascara and have been meaning to try it for years, and I have now finally gotten the chance. I really like tarte, so there is no surprise that I love this mascara. It lifts and curls my lashes and they actually stay curled, which is unusual for someone like me with stubbornly straight lashes. The packaging and mascara tube feel expensive and great quality, which for me makes the mascara even better.  I highly recommend this mascara if you are looking for a new one as it is great, and is also cruelty free for anyone that only uses cruelty free makeup!

MAC Burgundy Times Nine Palette – £25

When it comes to eyeshadow, I am not a fan of colour. I appreciate how creative and stunning many bold, colourful eye looks are, but I would never choose to put on some blue or yellow eyeshadow myself. The majority of my makeup palettes are neutral, yet I still couldn’t resist this burgundy palette. I think the colours are so pretty and the shimmer/foil colours are gorgeous (I included a picture with the flash to try and show the true colours of the foils). This is the first time I have tried MAC eyeshadow, and though it isn’t as good as my favorites Urban Decay and Too Faced, I really like them. The shadows are really pigmented and have great staying power. I do feel that they take a little longer to blend out however, but overall they are great shadows and such a pretty, versatile palette.

Eyek0 Bespoke Mascara img_7503I really like Eyeko mascaras, and how unique and creative they are with their products. Their Bespoke range is the first of its kind, where the mascara is custom made, allowing you to choose from over 100 formula and wand combinations to help you achieve your ideal lashes. My wand is curved and this mascara is great for giving my lashes more volume and lift. This mascara also came in this fancy box, which has a mirror inside and was sealed with a wax stamp sticker. I am unsure of the price of the Bespoke mascara range, however, if you are makeup obsessed like me, then I would definitely recommend getting your own.

Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray – £22img_7505I feel like over the past year or so setting your makeup with a powder is no longer enough, setting spray is the new thing and everyone is going crazy over it – so, of course, I had to try it for myself. As I’ve already mentioned I love Urban Decay, so I was expecting pretty good things from this as I have never been disappointed by a UD product before, and after trying this that streak continues. I was worried it would just make my face wet and feel horrible, but it goes on as a mist and absorbs instantly. It definitely helps my makeup look freshly applied for long and leaves my skin feeling lovely and fresh.

Lindsay xo

Leave a Reply

