NYX Shine Killer Primer Review

Despite using face primer for years, I have never found one that has overly stood out from the others as my favorite, and I have tended to try many different high street primers that have all done the job pretty well. Recently, however, I have been loving NYX products and decided to try their Shine Killer primer. The primer is £11 and is quite small with 20ml of product, so I was slightly hesitant at first but decided to give it a try, and I am so glad I did. After years of not having a favorite, I can now definitely say that I do. This primer works amazingly and really helps prevent my face looking shiny. It has a gel-like formula and leaves my skin feeling silky and matte. I find I need to apply a relatively generous pea-sized amount to give my face an all over even coverage.

The primer creates a lovely, smooth base for foundation and after trying it under three different foundations, it works wonderfully every time. The primer promises to eliminate oil and keep your face shine free and matte all day long, and though most primers I have used have stated the same thing, this one definitely delivers the best results. I first tried this when attending my brothers’ engagement party – a scene where my makeup tends to need a touch up with powder once or twice – yet I didn’t touch up my makeup once throughout the whole night. My face remained matte and fresh and by the end of the night where my foundation would look slightly patchy in places, it looked freshly applied.

I use this primer every day now and I love it so much. Though it is a little more expensive than the majority of the other primers I would have used, it works so much better and helps keep any shine and oil at bay. I highly recommend this product if you have oily or combination skin as it really works and keeps your foundation looking perfect for longer.

Lindsay xo

Leave a Reply

