Best of 2016: Makeup

Hey everyone! Since 2016 is almost over I thought it would be fun to do a post dedicated to the best makeup products I tried this year, as well as skincare and hair products – which will be a seperate post. I have tried many great products this year so thought it would be interesting to share what was the best from 2016!

Primer – NYX Shine Killer – £11I have already written a post about how great this face primer is, and it really is amazing. It is by far my favourite high street primer I have ever used, it works so well and keeps my makeup looking matte and fresh

Foundation – Maybelline Fit Me – £5.99I have been loving this foundation this year. It has medium to full coverage, blends really well and has a matte finish. It stays matte all day long and doesn’t show any signs of oxidising. To make this foundation even better, it is only £5.99! Having first tried this foundation in summer I am still using the first bottle and I have used this countless times, so you are really getting your money’s worth! This is such a great high street product, I couldn’t be more impressed with it!

Concealer – Tarte Coloured Clay CC Undereye Corrector – £19I am a big fan of Tarte, however, because it is only available to the UK online and the shipping costs are quite expensive, I don’t often buy their products. Every product I have tried, however, has been great, so I was excited when I saw that Tarte were doing free international shipping a few months ago, and decided to buy their undereye corrector. I have always had a problem with undereye circles; no matter how much sleep I get, how much water I drink or how many creams I apply, my eyes are constantly plagued by purple smudges under them. I have tried many concealers to try and help and this is definitely in my top concealers that hide them. It only comes in two shades, so I got the lightest one, which admittedly is quite orange toned. When it is applied though it immediately hides my dark circles! Because I am pale though I tend to top it off with another lighter concealer to even out the colour, but overall this concealer is brilliant. It does exactly what it says and for me, is worth the money because it really does work!

Highlighter – Sleek Cosmetics Cleopatra’s Kiss – £10

Names of shades: Sphinx, Delta, Dynasty and Goddess


Sleek Cosmetics have blown up this year, with every beauty vlogger raving about their highlight palettes, so I was eager to try one. I opted for the Cleopatra’s Kiss palette as I thought the shades included were best suited for my pale skin compared to the other two palettes. Like the other two palettes, there are two cream highlights (delta and dynasty) and two powder highlights (sphinx and goddess) all four of which are really pigmented.
Face Palette – Rimmel Kate Moss Sculpting Palette Golden Bronze -£6.99 I surprised myself by how much I love this palette. The bronzer is the perfect shade for contouring and is really pigmented so you only need a small touch to contour your face. The blush is also such a lovely pinky coral colour, with some light gold through it. The highlight is what first attracted me to this palette, yet it is my least favourite in the palette. It is a gorgeous champagne colour which I love, but it isn’t very pigmented and doesn’t have much shimmer to it, so a lot of product is needed to get a good highlight. Overall though I love this palette and since I bought it a month ago I have never stopped using the bronzer and blusher.

Mascara – Maybelline Sensational Mascara – £7.99I have straight lashes that are pretty stubborn when it comes to using mascara, so I am quite fussy with mascaras, finding that many don’t do anything to my eyelashes at all. However, I absolutely love Maybelline’s Sensational Mascara, and I would even go as far to say it is the best mascara I have ever used. It works so well to curl and separate my lashes and the brush is also great for applying mascara to my lower lashes. It doesn’t dry in hard like some mascaras, leaving your lashes soft and flexible, yet still volumised and curly. I have repurchased this mascara five or six times this year, and for such a low price I highly recommend this mascara to everyone.

Lips – NYX Lingerie Liquid Lipstick Bedtime Flirt – £6.50 I love NYX products and have a few different shades from their Lingerie line, but this is my favourite. It is such a gorgeous shade and lasts for hours. I like to apply a little bit of lip balm before applying it to ensure that I don’t dry out my lips. I couldn’t get a good picture of a swatch, but it is very true to the shade visible in the tube. 

Brows – Benefit Gimme Brow – £18.50Having always had thick, full brows, I have never used that many brow products, and it was only recently that I started paying my eyebrows any attention during my makeup routine. Gimme Brow is a fibre gel that helps fill in your eyebrows and make them appear fuller, so would be amazing for anyone with scarce, or light brows. I don’t really need it for that, but just brush it through my brows to make them look even and a little tidier. The gel looks really natural and even though comes in an admittedly tiny bottle, it lasts for ages.  

Nail Polish – Essie Fishnet Stockings- £7.99 I always have my nails painted, and so am always on the look out for new nail polishes. I have only recently started using Essie polishes and they are amazing. They dry really quickly, are very true to colour, and they are very chip resistant. Red being my favorite nail colour, I am in love with their shade Fishnet Stockings; it is such a brilliant dark red colour, and even without a top coat looks nice and shiny.

That’s the end of my best products list, let me know about any amazing products you tried this year, as I am always on the lookout for great products to try! 

Lindsay xo


Leave a Reply

