Guerlain L’Or Pure Gold Primer Review

The Guerlain L’Or primer is one of those luxury products that I never really pictured myself owning. Having seen it used and raved about by many beauty vloggers on YouTube, it was always a product I wanted to try until hearing about the £50 price tag. I love makeup, but could I really justify paying £50 for a makeup primer that might not even suit my skin type? That was always the thought going through my head as I watched another tutorial featuring it.

Luckily enough for me however, my brother is incredibly generous, especially when it comes to Christmas presents, and bought me the primer as part of my present! I was so excited to try it and so happy that I finally got to own such a luxury primer.

This primer contains small flakes of 24-carat gold (how fancy can you get?!) which is to help boost your skins radiance. The consistency is a light gel which melts into the skin and leaves your skin feeling very silky. You only need one pump to thoroughly cover your entire face, so although it is pricey, a little goes a long way with this product. The primer is really cooling and refreshing, and leaves my skin feeling beautifully soft and supple. It has a soft rose scent which is nice, but isn’t overpowering.

Primer is an essential product for my makeup bag, so it is no surprise that I have tried many throughout the years, but this is by far the best one I have ever tried. My makeup stays immaculate the whole day. Due to the cold winter weather, I have had a cold that seems to have lasted a lifetime, yet when using this primer my makeup stays put and looks freshly applied – even after blowing my nose for the tenth time (who knew that was possible?).

This is a gorgeous product, it looks and feels expensive and it really does work. This definitely isn’t an essential, and if you have normal skin that allows your makeup to stay on all day, then you could probably save yourself the £50. However, if you have super oily skin like me, or just love trying luxury products, then I would definitely recommend this primer. Yes it is expensive, but you get quite a lot of product (30ml), and you only need a small amount so it will last a long time. Not only that, but it is an amazing primer that doesn’t just keep your makeup on, but makes your skin feel healthy, radiant, and beautifully fresh.

Lindsay xo

Leave a Reply

