Best Skincare Products on a Budget

One of my favourite things to shop for is skincare products. I could happily spend hours going through the skincare aisles, looking at all the scrubs, moisturisers and masks. A week doesn’t go by that I don’t buy a new skincare product so you can imagine that I have tried my fair few. I always stick to high street skincare brands – with my obsession, I would have zero money if I didn’t – because, even though high street products are generally thought to be of lower quality, there are so many incredible products and brands out there that work and are a bargain.  So, I thought I would make a list of some of my favourite products that are affordable and perfect for anyone on a budget.

Nivea Soft Refreshingly Soft Moisturising Cream – £2.49 (75ml)I got a small pot of this in a Nivea gift set two years ago and I instantly fell in love with it. It is a light moisturiser that absorbs quickly and leaves my skin feeling hydrated but not heavy or oily. It can be used for your face, body or hands, though I tend to only use it on my face. Before trying it I was unsure if this would be okay on my face as I have oily skin, but I was pleasantly surprised by how light it was. It contains Vitamin E and Jojoba Oil and has a creamy texture, with a delicate scent similar to other Nivea skin products. A 75ml tube of this usually retails at £2.49, however, can be found online for cheaper and is often part of many offers. My current tube of it was only £1 from Tesco, you can’t really ask for better than that.

Superdrug Naturally Radiant Complete Cleanser – £5.99/£2.95 (150ml) After seeing a few people on Twitter talk about Superdrug’s new Naturally Radiant range, I decided to try their foam cleanser, and so far I am really liking it. It contains extracts of Kiwi Fruit and Mulberry and promises to boost skin’s radiance, cleanse, tone and remove makeup. This is a really nice face wash and leaves my skin feeling soft and squeaky clean. I find this a really great product to use in the morning, it’s refreshing and really quick to use. The only downside to this product, for me, is the scent; smelling to me like a lemon kitchen cleaning product. It isn’t overly strong, though, so it wouldn’t put me off buying it again, but I still am not a fan. This cleanser is £5.99, however, for the past few weeks has been a really great £2.95!

Simple Kind To Skin Deep Cleansing Face Mask – £3.19 (75ml) I live by Simple’s makeup remover wipes and am always looking for different masks to try so bought this instantly when I spotted it on the shelve. This mask contains Pro-Vitamin B5 and Vitamin E, and promises to draw out dirt and eliminate dead skin cells, all the while soothing and calming your skin. After multiple uses I would definitely say it does what it promises, my skin feels soft and smooth, as well as clean and refreshed. Along with the vitamins, this masks also contains natural clay, however, doesn’t have the thick consistency that you would normally associate with clay. Instead, the mask has the consistency of a face wash and doesn’t dry in like most masks. The instructions are to leave on for 3 minutes, but I tend to leave it on for around 5 before rinsing it off. This is a really nice mask that is gentle yet still deeply cleans your skin.

Biore Baking Soda Pore Cleanser – £4.99 (200ml) This product has been my go to since I first tried it a year ago. It contains baking soda so it is more like a gentle scrub than a cleanser, and I feel it deeply cleans my skin and gets into my pores. It promises to remove dirt and impurities from the pore whilst gently exfoliating and for me, it does exactly that. After using this for so long my pores seem less visible, my skin feels smoother and the amount of redness on my face has reduced too. The product suggests using it daily, which I usually do, however, I wouldn’t suggest using both morning and night, as it can be slightly drying. I usually use this in the morning, and it gives me a lovely smooth base for my makeup, and I feel it really helps keep my oily skin at bay. Each wash I use one and a half pumps and that is more than enough product to fully cover my face. I am a fan of all Biore products that I have tried, but this one is definitely one of my favourites.

Clearasil Hydra-Blast Skin Perfecting Wash – Prices Vary (150ml) Clearasil is mostly known for being a great brand for dealing with spots, and even though I don’t suffer from a lot of breakouts, this is a great wash to keep any breakouts at bay and keep your skin looking and feeling fresh. It contains Aloe Vera and Cucumber extracts and is very gentle on the skin and isn’t drying whatsoever. This is a cream wash, however, also has the feeling of a scrub, and it cleans deep into your pores. This is definitely gentle enough to use every day and my face feels squeaky clean after every use. The prices for this vary, from Boots it is £3.20, and in Superdrug it is £3.05, and you can find it online for £2.60. This is generally a really affordable face wash and works really well despite the low cost.

Lindsay xo

Leave a Reply

