My Introduction to Birchbox

As a lover of all things beauty and makeup, it’s a surprise that up until now I have never tried a monthly beauty subscription. I have been interested in trying one for a while but never got round to doing it. The other week I saw an advert for Birchbox on Instagram advertising two for one boxes when you signed up, so I decided to give it a go and subscribe. If I didn’t like it I could easily cancel my subscription right? And it was great value getting two boxes for the price of one.

A week later my two boxes arrived and I can’t lie, I was pretty excited to open them up and see what was inside. The boxes I received was the April and May boxes and they included some amazing goodies, like a spectrum contour eyeshadow brush (!!), Doucce mascara, Mannakadar Beauty HD Perfecting Powder, and Caudalie Glow Activating Brightening and Smoothing Serum (which I haven’t stopped using). I was really happy with my boxes and was more than happy to stay subscribed and wait for my June box to arrive.

My June box arrived earlier this week, and after receiving it so soon after the other two, it had me feeling like a child during Christmas. June’s box was actually a bag, with the choice of a lilac and yellow striped makeup bag, or a lilac and green one. I opted for the yellow one and I love it. It’s a good size and a really cute bag which will be super handy for any traveling. As always the box (bag) came with five beauty items, with a breakdown of the items, their uses and full sized prices included in the bag.

Scrub Love Invigorating Coffee Body Scrub – £11.95

I love body scrubs so was excited to receive this, and after reading that the scrub works to reduce redness and moisturise the skin whilst exfoliating, I was even more excited. After trying this scrub a few times it has left my skin so soft and isn’t drying at all like some scrubs can be. It is gentle on the skin, but still exfoliates well. The only downside to this scrub is the overwhelming smell of coffee. I am not a big fan of coffee, so wasn’t so keen on the smell, but thankfully you don’t smell of coffee after using it. This scrub is also very messy in the shower, and took a few rinses to get my shower looking back to normal, but still, overall I really liked this product.

Cowshed Cowpat Moisturising Hand Cream – £8 

I have heard many great things about Cowshed so was excited to receive this hand moisturiser. I tend to stick to Nivea hand moisturisers as they’re cheap and absorb quickly, but I absolutely loved this one. It absorbed quickly, leaving my hands feeling silky smooth and had a faint refreshing scent that I couldn’t exactly put my finger on. I felt it worked really nicely on my nails and cuticles too. 

ARROW Waterproof Eyeliner Bright Now – £12 

The full sized product is double ended with a pink end and a black end, I received the pink end which I was really happy with. I don’t often use black pencil eyeliner, but do like using pinks, nudes and whites to brighten my waterline. I really liked this liner, it applied well and stayed in my waterline throughout and day and helped brighten up my tired eyes. 

Mercy and Mia Browliner #022 – £12.99 

I have big eyebrows naturally so don’t tend to use brow pencils regularly, staying loyal to my Benefit Gimme Brow, but I really like this liner. It is a good shade match for my brows and blends really well. It gives my brows a natural finish, whilst still making them look precise and neat. 

Anika Dry Shampoo – £20

I can be a little fussy when it comes to dry shampoo as I have oily hair and not all dry shampoos absorb all the oil or keep it looking clean for more than a few hours. However, I really liked this one. It was a fine spray, that came out white on the hair, however the white brushed out really easily and there was no sign of any dry shampoo residue on my hair. My hair didn’t feel full of product, instead just felt light and clean. For the full size bottle it is £20, however, which is pretty expensive for dry shampoo, but it is definitely a good buy and works really well. 

Lindsay xo 

Leave a Reply

