Beauty, Review

Review: Revolution Setting Spray Pro Fix Oil Control

I have always heard great things about Revolution, however, this setting spray is actually the first product of theirs I have tried. I am always on the lookout for a new affordable setting spray, so was excited when I spotted this in the store, especially when I seen it was only £5. I always seem to go through them so quickly – I may get carried away with the spraying just a little – so don’t want to splurge out on Urban Decay’s All Nighter every other month or so. A firm high street favourite of mine has long been the Maybelline 24hr Setting Spray, but like many products, when I use it too often my skin becomes used to it and it no longer works as well.

Revolution have launched a range of setting sprays for many different skin types and results which I think is a great idea, and something that more high street brands should do. I chose their Oil Control setting spray, which promises to keep oil at bay while making sure your makeup stays in place all day.

I have been wearing this consistently for two months now and have found some pros and cons.

This setting spray sprays very well. Unlike others I have tried where hardly any comes out, this bottle sprays evenly, covering your face with only a few sprays. Once sprayed your face looks very wet but it absorbs within seconds which is great. This setting spray also somehow lasts for a long time. I bought this in July and have used it daily since, yet it still has half a bottle left – this for me is a massive pro as like I said earlier, I tend go through setting sprays quickly.

This setting spray kept my eye makeup looking great, with no signs of my liquid eyeliner going anywhere even after wearing it for over 18 hours one day. It, sadly, didn’t keep my face makeup looking as perfect. My face makeup generally stayed on well, it didn’t rub off on my nose or chin, and generally it looked quite good. However, my skin did look quite oily a few hours after applying my makeup.

Overall, this is a good setting spray and for the price of £5 it is definitely worth the money. It has helped my makeup stay put all day, and even though my t-zone area became oily after a few hours, my makeup didn’t seem to come off with it. I would definitely recommend this setting spray, just be prepared with some extra powder if your skin can be as oily as mine!

Lindsay xo

Leave a comment